SDA faculty, alumni garner recognition at Ovation Awards

On Monday night, the 30th Ovation Awards honored several USC School of Dramatic Arts artists for their stellar work in Los Angeles theatre this year.

Two of our School of Dramatic Arts faculty members’ work could be seen in productions that won in their respective “Best Production” categories — including Associate Professor of Theatre Practice Philip G. Allen’s sound design and faculty member Tom Buderwitz’s scenic design in Pasadena Playhouse’s Ragtime (winner of Best Production of a Musical – Large Theatre), and Buderwitz’s scenic design in Fountain Theatre’s Cost of Living (winner of Best Production of a Play – Intimate Theatre).

Additionally, Buderwitz received an individual nomination for Scenic Design – Large Theatre for Ragtime, while Allen received two nominations for Sound Design – Large Theatre for Ragtime and Center Theatre Group’s Lackawanna Blues. The aforementioned production was also nominated for Best Production of a Play – Large Theatre, along with Lady Day at Emerson’s Bar & Grill at the Gerry Marshall Theatre, which was directed by faculty member Gregg T. Daniel.

In addition, alumna Elmira Rahim MFA ’15 was featured as a presenter at this year’s Ovation Awards ceremony–she joined the likes of Danny Feldman, Claudia de Vasco, and more on the Ace Hotel stage.

Other artists from USC were also a part of productions nominated for awards, specifically in the Best Production of a Play – Intimate Theatre category. This included James Bane MFA ’13, who performed as Constable 1, and lighting designer Tess Vidal BFA ’13 for Accidental Death of an Anarchist at The Actors’ Gang Theater; Erika Soto BA ’11, who performed as Jessica, in Everything That Never Happened at the Boston Court Pasadena; and Connor Kelly-Eiding BFA ’11, who performed as #25, in The Wolves at The Echo Theatre Company.

Additional SDA nominations included Assistant Professor Elizabeth Harper’s lighting design for Mysterious Circumstances at the Geffen Playhouse (Lighting Design – Large Theatre); faculty member Ahmed Best’s fighr direction for SCRAPS at the Matrix Theatre Company; and Associate Professor of Theatre Practice Stephanie Shroyer’s choreography for ARGONAUTIKA at A Noise Within. Also, Kapil Talwalker BA ’15 was featured in the ensemble for Radiant Vermin at Door Number 3 Theatre, which was nominated for Best Acting Ensemble of a Play.

Congratulations to all of the nominees and winners at this year’s Ovation Awards.